12th annual SAFTAs announce nominees

The South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs), managed under the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), an agency of the Department of Arts and Culture, announced the nominees of the 12th Annual South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAS 12) at the Inanda Club on Friday, 2 February 2018.

With the main objective of the awards being to celebrate excellence, encourage collaboration, and develop new talent, while profiling South African talent and productions. This year’s nominees are a representation of these objectives with a combination of new talent and honouring productions that have kept South Africans at the edge of their seats.

Judging remains the backbone of the SAFTAs, and this year’s team is made up of 262 judges, under the guidance of two overall judging chairpersons – Firdoze Bulbulia and Thembi Mtshali-Jones. Furthermore, the SAFTAs committee consists of the NFVF, CCISFA, SASFED, eTV, M-Net, SABC and StarSat.

“I would like to congratulate all the nominees for this achievement, reaching this stage from 348 entries is no small feat as the quality of entries left judges deliberating well after midnight each night, deciding on their top 3 nominees for each category. I encourage the industry to continue to produce exceptional productions and to strive for excellence so that these awards can get better each year. I would also like to wish all the nominees the best of luck, and we will continue to celebrate you,’’ said NFVF chief executive officer, Zama Mkosi.

She added: “These awards have been sustained and are only possible due to strong relationships with private and public sector partners such as McCafe, the North West Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs (CATA), Ster-Kinekor and the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC). In this tough economic climate, we are fortunate to have retained these partners and gained new ones.”

A full list of the SAFTAS 12 nominees can be downloaded from the NFVF website.