Silwerskerm Film Festival

The winners of the eighth annual kykNET Silwerskerm Film Festival were announced in a stormy Camps Bay on Saturday night at the luxury Bay Hotel. The four-day long local film festival boasted a stellar line-up this year which saw an array of short films and six feature films compete against each other to be crowned the winner in the annual awards.

Standouts of the evening included Cannes hit The Harvesters ( Die Stropers ) which bagged an award for its hauntingly beautiful cinematography. The cast of the true-life Ellen Pakkies film clinched the acting awards for their powerful performances.

Ultimately it was Christiaan Olwagen’s Canary ( Kanarie ), a coming-of-age musical war drama set in 1985 South Africa, that won the top award for the evening.


Short Films

Best Short Film – 11 Minutes – Die leeftyd van ‘n Orgidee

Best Short Film – 22 Minutes – Axis Mundi

Best Director – Short Film 11 Minutes – Marí Borstlap, Die leeftyd van ‘n Orgidee

Best Director – Short Film 22 Minutes – Matthew Jankes & Sean Steinberg, Axis Mundi

Best Actor – Short Film – Brendon Daniels, Cowboy Dan

Best Actress – Short Film – Cindy Swanepoel, Fluit Fluit

Best Script: Short Film 11 Minutes – Milan Murray, Kromkieriefontein

Best Script: Short Film 22 Minutes – Matthew Jankes & Sean Steinberg, Axis Mundi

Best Editing: Short Film – Alexander La Cock, Cowboy Dan

Best Technical: Short Film – Johannes Pieter Nel (cinematographer), Benjamin

Full-length Films

Best Cinematography – Michal Englert, Die Stropers

Best Production Design – Rocco Pool, Kanarie

Best Sound Design and Music – Evgueni & Sacha Galperine, Leandros Ntounis, Thomas Robert & Jean-Guy Veran, Die Stropers

Best Editing –  Eva Du Preez, Kanarie

Best Script – Amy Jephta, Ellen, Die Storie van Ellen Pakkies