Africa No Filter’s Academic Fellows program

As part of a broader research agenda to make its work on shifting African narratives evidence based, Africa No Filter is launching an Emerging Scholars Fellowship program for African academics. This will help us better understand prevailing stories and resulting narratives within, and about Africa. The research, co-funded by Facebook, will be conducted across mainstream media, social media, popular culture, the arts, donor publications, and educational materials.

The Fellows program is aimed at producing rigorous data that explores how Africans see themselves by tracking the platforms where Africans are engaging. As part of the program, scholars will have access to training, networking opportunities and mentorship. Each scholar will also be awarded up to $7000 to conduct their research.

The Fellowship program will be guided by five academic advisors:

Johanna Blakley is the managing director at the Norman Lear Center, based at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

Sean Jacobs is the associate professor of international affairs at the Julien J. Studley Graduate Programs in International Affairs at The New School and founder and editor of Africa is a Country,

Winston Mano is Reader at the University of Westminster, UK, and member of the Communication Research Institute’s Global Media Research Network. He is also the principal editor of the Journal of African Media Studies.

Lusike Mukhongo is the visiting assistant professor of communication and digital media at Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. She is also a senior lecturer in the Department of Communication Studies at Moi University in Kenya.

Rebecca Pointer is a research consultant for Africa No Filter. She is enrolled for a PhD at Wits School of Governance.

Priority will be given to African scholars from African countries or from the diaspora; and emerging scholars, defined as those currently undertaking a PhD or a Post-doc, or those who have been in junior academic posts for less than three years. In addition, applicants should be based at a recognized academic institute. Applications must be submitted by Friday 13 November 2020. The Fellowship will be granted in December 2020, to be completed by 31 July 2021.   More information is available here: