WGSA Muse Awards: Call for Entries

The WGSA Muse Awards launched by the Writers’ Guild of South Africa (WGSA) is the only award in the country that exclusively honours the South African Performance Writer and allows the local content production industry to celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and writing excellence of local writers.

The WGSA is opening the WGSA Muse Awards to writers from across Africa.

The Award Categories

  • Film
    • Best Feature Film Screenplay
    • Best Short Film Screenplay
  • Television
    • Best Television (Short Form) Drama Screenplay
    • Best Television (Long Form) Drama Screenplay
    • Best Television Mini-Series Screenplay or
      Best “Made for Television” Screenplay
    • Best Sitcom Screenplay
    • Best Television Comedy Screenplay
    • Best Micro-Budget Film Screenplay
  • Documentary
    • Best Documentary Script
    • Best Documentary Series Script
  • Stage Play
    • Best Stage Play Script
  • Radio Play
    • Best Radio Play Script
  • Animation
    • Best Animated Film Screenplay
    • Best Animated Short Film Screenplay
    • Best Animated Series Screenplay
  • Mobile or Internet
    • Best Webisode Screenplay
  • FAS Film
    • Best FAS Original Feature Film Screenplay

Find out more: Award categories and their definitions

Submission Dates and Guidelines

Early Bird Entries – on or before 30 April 2019 – R 150.00

Standard Entries – on or before 15 May 2019 – R 250.00

Final Deadline – on or before 31 May 2019 – R 400.00

Please note that in order to be eligible to enter The WGSA Muse Awards, unproduced scripts and screenplays must be listed with a recognised script registry. The WGSA offers a script registry service to both members and non-members.

Find out more: Script Ownership and registry

Find out more: Submission details and guidelines