The Winners At The Inaugural Silwerskerm TV And Film Awards

The bookend of the 11th Silwerskerm film festival, which took place in August in Cape Town, was the rebranded Silwerskerm Awards for TV and Film, which replaced the festival’s competition, enlarged to include TV categories for the first time with Afrikaans nominees from MultiChoice’s kykNET and Showmax stables. With the addition of TV stars, the ceremony was the biggest awards show in the film festival’s history. 

Notable wins include Hans Steek die Rubicon Oor, the film adaptation of Rudie van Rensburg’s book, which will be released in theatres on 29 September and which won the Best Feature Film award. Pierre van Pletzen also won the Best Actor award for his role of Hans in the film, whilst Corné van Rooyen from Red Letter Day Pictures, who produced the film, won Best Director.

Edwin van der Walt won Best Actor in a Drama Series for Donkerbos, whilst Erica Wessels snagged the win for Best Actress in a Drama Series for the same title. Lifetime contribution award honours were bestowed on newsman Freek Robinson, actor Cedwyn Joel, and producer André Scholtz.

See the full nominees and winners list here.